Holmes holds spring athletic banquet

Holmes holds spring athletic banquet

Holmes Community College honored its spring athletes Wednesday night with an end-of-season banquet in Carroll Cafeteria.

Men's basketball team members Jarvis Williams, Dontarrius Simmons, Cedric Harper, Daryl Macon and Marcus Washington received awards which included: Williams, NJCAA V.C. "Bud" Obee Award, MACJC All-Star and Hustle Award; Simmons, Sportsmanship Award; Harper, Rim Protector and Jonathan Boyd Award; Macon, Best Free Throw Shooter Award, Assist Award, Best Offensive Player Award, All-Region, Region XXIII Tournament Team Award, All-State, NJCAA All-Tournament Team and NJCAA All-American; and Washington, MVP Award, Board Award, Best Defensive Player Award, MACJC All-Star, All-State, and All-Region XXIII Tournament Team.

Cheer squad members DeAvalon Edwards, Katherine Middleton, Cheyenne Bennett, Mary Margaret Johnson, Shelby Soyars, Lisa Peterson, Caleb Gray, Deshawn Oliver, James David Ingram, Brandon Bryant, Bailey Pepper, Haley Blain, Austin Purvis and Corey Anderson received awards which included: Anderson, Bennett, Blain, Bryant, Gray, Ingram, Pepper, Johnson, Middleton, Peterson and Soyars, Scholar Athlete Award; Bryant, Most Improved Award; Bennett, Most Spirited Award; Johnson, Bulldog Award; Peterson, Most Valuable Female Award; Edwards and Pepper, Most Valuable Male Award; and Pepper, Oliver, Purvis, Ingram, Johnson and Peterson, Leadership Award.

Women's basketball team members Aja Williams, Carmesha Nalls, Kawaii Perry, LaShonda Wilson, Akia Washington, Minyone Hill and Tiffany Jones received awards which included: Washington, Most Improved Award; Perry, Lady Bulldog Award; Hill, Assist Award; Jones, Rebound Award; Wilson, Best Defensive Player Award and MACJC All-Star; Nalls, Best Offensive Player Award, Second Team All-State, Region XXIII Tournament Team and MACJC All-Star; and Williams, MVP Award, First Team All-State and All-Region.

Softball team members Shelby Hoover, Hayden Grantham, Charlesy Lovorn, Kelsey Kelly, Abby Stafford, A'Breana Yarbrough, Kassey Ard, Blair Little and Anna Garza received awards which included: Lindsey Robbins, Brett Whitlock, Ard, Kelly, Little, Reagan Walker, Yarbrough and Kaitlin Dickerson, Scholar Athlete Award; Hoover, Dan Edwards Award; Ard, MVP, MVP, First Team All-North Division and All-State; Lovorn, Most Improved Player Award; Stafford and Garza, Best Defensive Player Award; Grantham and Kelly, Best Offensive Player Award; Little, Lady Bulldog Award and Honorable Mention All-North Division; Garza and Grantham, Second Team All-North Division; Kelly, First Team All-North Division and All-State; and Yarbrough, Honorable Mention All-North Division.

Tennis team members Katie Wood, Jordan Baker, Jennifer Rule, Allie Furdge, Lori Nesbitt, Claire Shores, Owen Taylor, Dylan Throgmorton, Hunter Moore, Jake Korokis, Corey Warren and Nick Robertson received awards which included: Rule, Taylor and Throgmorton, MVP Award; Wood and Robertson, Bulldog Award; Furdge and Warren, Most Improved Award; Nesbitt and Moore, Sportsmanship Award; Baker and Sam Cain, Heart of a Champion Award; Shores and Justin Sawyer, Animal Award; Korokis and Brittany Varsel, Manager Award.




View: Mobile | Desktop