Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Coach Harrison named SEC Legend; will be recognized at the SEC Tournament

Coach Harrison named SEC Legend; will be recognized at the SEC Tournament

OXFORD, Miss. – Holmes Community College Men's Basketball Assistant Coach and Ole Miss Basketball great Jason Harrison has been named to the 2017 Allstate SEC Legends class, the league office announced Friday.

One of the most popular players in Ole Miss Basketball history, Harrison earned All-SEC honors twice during his career from 1999-2002 and helped lead the Rebels to three NCAA Tournament appearances and a pair of SEC West titles.

The 5-5 point guard hit one of the biggest shots in Ole Miss history - a 3-pointer with 48 seconds left - that propelled the Rebels over Notre Dame in the 2001 NCAA Tournament and to the first Sweet Sixteen appearance in school history.

Featuring former greats from all 14 Southeastern Conference member institutions, the Allstate® SEC Basketball Legends will be honored at the SEC Men's Basketball Tournament March 8-12 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

Entering his ninth season at Holmes, Coach Harrison has helped shaped the culture of the HCC Basketball program. Coming off back-to-back North Division Championships (2015 & 2016) Coach Harrison hopes to continue building Holmes into one of the best programs in the nation.

Coach Harrison was very instrumental in helping the Bulldogs reach new heights in 2015 while winning the North Division and Region XXIII Championship. The Bulldogs also went on to the first-ever National Tournament appearance in men's history and advancing to the Elite 8.

He has also helped 47 players and managers earn associate degrees while implementing a program entitled B.A.S.I.C (Basketball Players Studying Inside the Classroom) Training Program. He also helped produce 14 All-State players, 6 All-Region players, 3 All-Tournament Selections,14 Academic Honors (President & Deans List) Back to Back Player of the Year (Daryl Macon 2015 & 2016) and Back to Back  All-American (Daryl Macon 2015 & 2016) and the first Lil Player of the Year in the nation award winner (Jarvis Williams 2015)

Coach Harrison has helped send 48 former players and managers to various four-year universities to help further their education and playing careers, 18 players have signed Division 1 scholarships. Coach Harrison also took great honor in helping Coach Flanigan earn Back to Back Coach of the Year honors (2015 & 2016) as well.

Coach Harrison was a former player at Ole Miss and was the lone member of his senior class which started with 4 members. When he graduated in 2002 he recorded 86 victories which ranked second in school history at that time. Before joining the Bulldog family Jason coached two AAU teams: 17 and under Arkansas Hawks and 11 year old Arkansas All-Stars, while working for the Arkansas Democrat Gazette as a District Sales Manager from 2005-2008.

While in high school at Parkview Arts and Science Magnet Jason was a member of the All-Sophomore Team in 1996. He was also named Mr. Basketball of the state of Arkansas in 1998 while earning MVP honors 1998 All-Star game and MVP honors in three separate tournaments his senior year. During his high school tenure Coach Harrison played in 2 state championship games in 1996 (Runner-up) & 1998 (Champions).

Jason Harrison was an All-SEC performer in 2000 & 2001, at the time he was the second player in Ole Miss History to record over 1,000 points and over 400 assists. He lettered from 1998-2002 with a record at the time with the most games played in Ole Miss History (132) he ranked third in steals all time (172), third in assist-all time (427), fourth all-time in free-throw percentage (82%) and fourth in 3-point field goals made (136).

Coach Harrison is a Little Rock, Ark. native, who played for Coach Al Flanigan the father of Head Coach Jason Flanigan. Coach Harrison graduated from Ole Miss with a bachelor's degree in Journalism and a minor in English. He is married to Shemeca N. Harrison, who is also a Little Rock native. They have three children, Jayce, Jacob and Skylar.

In addition to Harrison, the 2017 class includes George Linn, Alabama; Oliver Miller, Arkansas; Marquis Daniels, Auburn; Matt Bonner, Florida; Jimmy Pitts, Georgia; Keith Bogans, Kentucky; Tasmin Mitchell, LSU; Dontae' Jones, Mississippi State; Jon Sundvold, Missouri; Bobby Cremins, South Carolina; Ron Slay, Tennessee; Acie Law IV, Texas A&M; Barry Booker, Vanderbilt.

Each SEC Basketball Legend will be recognized at halftime of his institution's first game at the tournament.

Highlighting the schedule of events at the Sunkist Soda SEC FanFare will be appearances by selected legends. Fanfare will be located at Broadway and 5th Avenue.

This marks the 19th year of the SEC Basketball Legends program.

Ole Miss contributed to this article